RSS

Running updates – January 2, 2012

03 Jan

IOP - New Year's Eve 2011

My running is moving along nicely… I am following a 12-week plan and aiming for a March marathon – still fitting it into my ‘Marathon Before 40’ plan.

My last physical of the 30s showed everything in great shape, cholesterol way below normal numbers, heart rate and blood pressure well below where they should be for a 39 year old.  My doctor said I am good to go for the run and even for the flight the next day… IF I choose to run the Georgia Marathon in Atlanta and then fly to my teaching engagement at Indiana University the next day.

In addition to the training runs – and daily workouts at Performance QSA – I will run the Greenville News Downtown 5K in January and a few other tuneups to get my mind back in the racing mode I was in a few years ago.  Not that I am looking to hit a specific goal number… but the mindset has to be there to be able to run in a large group of people.  You have to be able to navigate and negotiate others while keeping your mind on the goal you have set for yourself.

Those people that just go out ‘to run a race’ are doing just that – and I think that is great.  However, when you get to the half marathon (13.1 miles) and the marathon (26.2 miles) distance it takes a little more than just going out a plodding along.  Mental focus has to be there to keep your brain off the ‘walls’ that seem to pop up at those distances.

I have run three half marathons and hit the proverbial ‘wall’ around mile 11… I have NO idea where that will happen with the marathon.  THAT is what I am jonsing for – the unknown!

The percentage of Americans to complete a marathon is usually quoted as 1-2%… I look forward to being in that exclusive group!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Running

 

2 responses to “Running updates – January 2, 2012

  1. Elisha Urankar

    January 13, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Hello, I love your blog. Is there some thing I can do to obtain updates like a subscription or some thing? I’m sorry I am not familiar with RSS? http://www.ctctradeshows.com

     
    • darronmeares

      March 28, 2012 at 1:55 am

      Add your email address in the bottom right corner of the blog – it will email updates as I post them!

      Thank you for your comments!

       

Leave a comment